Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English 102 - College Reading & Composition II
English 102 continues the development of skillful reading and writing, using the material of short stories, plays, and poetry.
From the library homepage use the Search All tab.
Navigate to the Databases tab and click the LAHC Library Databases link; view the Databases by Subject option.
Research by Subject: Literature
Authors and their works, literary movements and genres, literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews.
Produced by Salem Press, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. Includes literary works, reviewed critical analysis, brief plot summaries, biographies, and author essays.
Twayne's Author Series
Critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers worldwide within the context of the time period in which they lived. Insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.
EBSCO - All
Type: Research Paper
Length: 6-8 full pages
Citation Format: MLA
- Use textual evidence to support your thesis – needs direct quotes from the play as well as at least three outside sources – one of these needs to be from an academic database)
- A Doll's House
- Three outside sources
||Academic/Scholarly, Newspaper, Magazine
||Print, eBook, Reference
||Video, Audio, Image
From the library homepage use the eBooks tab an enter your search terms.
You can search by
Key Concepts in Literary Theory
Key Concepts in Literary Theory presents the student of literary and critical studies with a broad range of accessible, precise and authoritative definitions of the most significant terms and concepts currently used in psychoanalytic, poststructuralist, Marxist, feminist, and postcolonial literary studies. The volume also provides clear and useful discussions of the main areas of literary, critical and cultural theory, supported by bibliographies and an expanded chronology of major thinkers. Accompanying the chronology are short biographies of major works by each critic or theorist. The third edition of this reliable reference work is both revised and expanded, including: • more than 100 additional terms and concepts defined. • newly defined terms include keywords from the social sciences, cultural studies and psychoanalysis and the addition of a broader selection of classical rhetorical terms. • an expanded chronology, with additional entries and a broader historical and cultural range. • expanded bibliographies including key texts by major critics.
How to Read Literature
What makes a work of literature good or bad? How freely can the reader interpret it? Could a nursery rhyme like Baa Baa Black Sheep be full of concealed loathing, resentment, and aggression? In this accessible, delightfully entertaining book, Terry Eagleton addresses these intriguing questions and a host of others. How to Read Literature is the book of choice for students new to the study of literature and for all other readers interested in deepening their understanding and enriching their reading experience.In a series of brilliant analyses, Eagleton shows how to read with due attention to tone, rhythm, texture, syntax, allusion, ambiguity, and other formal aspects of literary works. He also examines broader questions of character, plot, narrative, the creative imagination, the meaning of fictionality, and the tension between what works of literature say and what they show. Unfailingly authoritative and cheerfully opinionated, the author provides useful commentaries on classicism, Romanticism, modernism, and postmodernism along with spellbinding insights into a huge range of authors, from Shakespeare and J. K. Rowling to Jane Austen and Samuel Beckett.
The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms
A twenty-first century version of Roger Fowler's 1973 Dictionary of Modern Critical Terms, this latest edition of The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms is the most up-to-date guide to critical and theoretical concepts available to students of literature at all levels. With over forty newly commissioned entries, this essential reference book includes: an exhaustive range of entries, covering such topics as genre, form, cultural theory and literary technique new definitions of contemporary critical issues such as Cybercriticism and Globalization complete coverage of traditional and radical approaches to the study and production of literature thorough accounts of critical terminology and analyses of key academic debates full cross-referencing throughout and suggestions for further reading. Covering both long-established terminology as well as the specialist vocabulary of modern theoretical schools, The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms is an indispensable guide to the principal terms and concepts encountered in debates over literary studies in the twenty-first century.