102 - Savard - Electric Sheep - English - LibGuides at Los Angeles Harbor College

Essay #2: Assignment

Review the assignment prompt and details.

Do Androids dream of Electric Sheep?

Author: Philip Dick

Philip Dick inspirational quotes (just for fun!):

Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.

It is sometimes an appropriate response to reality to go insane.

Don't try to solve serious matters in the middle of the night.

Identify the main concepts to use as keywords in the library catalog, databases, and while searching the Internet.

Keywords:

animal, status, symbols, prize, success, humanity/environment relationship, values, American consumerism, American values, theories.

Print Books

eBooks

Ebsco eBooks

Navigate to the Find Books tab and use the library catalog search box.

Search by:

Connect to the catalog by viewing the books below. The images and examples below are for Essay #2.

Click on the blue link or image to open the item record in the library catalog. Take note of the school location, call number, and status.
To find similar books, click on Catalog Record and look at the Subject Terms to see how the item was cataloged.
Click on the Subject Term to navigate to items cataloged with that term and view results.

To begin a new search after viewing a book, click Search/Home on the top left bar.

American Values by Mary E. Williams
Call Number: HN90.M6 .A45 2005
Apathy in Literature by Tony McCracken
Call Number: EBSCOhost eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The Book of Codes by Paul Lunde (Editor)
Call Number: Z103 .B56 2009
The Complete Dictionary of Symbols by Jack Tresidder
Call Number: GR931.T74 2005
Invisible Nature by Kenneth Worthy
Call Number: GF75 .W67 2013
Paratexts by James Gunn
Call Number: EBSCOhost eBook
Publication Date: 2013

Navigate to the Find Articles tab and view the Databases by Subject page.

Recommended Subject Databases Collections:

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Authors and their works, literary movements and genres, literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
Produced by Salem Press, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. Includes literary works, reviewed critical analysis, brief plot summaries, biographies, and author essays.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources.
EBSCO - eBooks - (Academic, General, Community College, MAS Reference, MasterFILE Reference, & Primary Search Reference) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary.
eBook database collections (Academic, Community College, and General)
EBSCO - All (EBSCO is the Vendor Name) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary.
Click on Full - Text to insure access to the item.
GALE - All (GALE is the Vendor Name) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary.
LRC (Literature Resource Center) This link opens in a new window
Biographical info., overviews, literary criticism, and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods world wide. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for books, articles, and dissertations from 1926 to the present.

Recommended Search Terms: