Skip to main content

English: 102 - Triplett (Five Essay Topics)

English 102 - College Reading & Composition II

English 102 continues the development of skillful reading and writing, using the material of short stories, plays, and poetry.

Essay #2: Assignment

Review the assignment prompt and details.

Research the Antebellum South and the effect it had on the people who lived there after the Civil War. What were their customs, culture, beliefs, etc?
o William Faulkner’s “A Rose for Emily”

Research the medical treatment women were given for postpartum depression after childbirth in the late 1800s-early 1900s. How did this affect women? What psychological affects did this cause?
o Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s “The Yellow Wallpaper”

Research the role of religion and politics in Latin America (or specifically Colombia) and what effect that had on their beliefs.
o Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s “A Very Old Man With Enormous Wings”

Research the use of capital punishment in American society and what effect this has on culture and beliefs about punishments.
o Shirley Jackson’s “The Lottery”

Research the Vietnam War and the effect it had on the soldiers who fought in it.
o Tim O’Brien’s “The Things They Carried”
o Louise Erdrich’s “The Red Convertible”

Keywords

Identify the main concepts to use as keywords in the library catalog, databases, and while searching the Internet. 

Keywords:

Antebellum South (synonyms?), Civil War, customs, culture, beliefs (synonyms)?

Research the medical treatment women were given for postpartum depression after childbirth in the late 1800s-early 1900s. How did this affect women? What psychological affects did this cause?

Keywords:

Medical treatment (synonyms?), women, postpartum (synonyms?), depression, how will you search for the time period? psychological

Research the role of religion and politics in Latin America (or specifically Colombia) and what effect that had on their beliefs.

Keywords:

Religion, politics, role, Latin America (synonyms?), Colombia, beliefs

Research the use of capital punishment in American society and what effect this has on culture and beliefs about punishments.

Keywords:

Capital punishment (synonyms?), American (synonyms?), effect, beliefs (synonyms), punishment(s)

Research the Vietnam War and the effect it had on the soldiers who fought in it.

Keywords:

Vietnam War, effect, soldiers (synonyms?), fought/fight (synonyms?)

Databases

Navigate to the Databases tab and click the LAHC Library Databases link.and view the Databases by Subject page.

Research by Subject: History, Psychology

Recommended Subject Databases Collections:

Encyclopedias and overviews

Research studies and scholarly journals

Books

Navigate to the Find Books tab and use the library catalog search box. 

Search by:

  • Title
  • Author
  • Keyword
  • Themes

OR

Connect to the catalog by viewing the books below. The images and examples below are for Essay #2.

  1. Click on the blue link or image to open the item record in the library catalog. Take note of the school location, call number, and status. 
  2. To find similar books, click on Catalog Record and look at the Subject Terms to see how the item was cataloged. 
  3. Click on the Subject Term to navigate to items cataloged with that term and view results. 

To begin a new search after viewing a book, click Search/Home on the top left bar.