Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Los Angeles Harbor College home page Los Angeles Harbor College Library

Nursing: Resources

Nursing

Los Angeles Harbor College General Catalog 2021-2023 [with 2022-2023 Addendum]

General Information about Nursing Programs

The Associate Degree Nursing Program is a four semester program of concentrated study (after the completion of program prerequisites) which prepares a diverse body of students to obtain the necessary knowledge, skills, and attitudes to continuously improve the safety and quality of their individual performance and the health care system. The nursing program's core values include accountability, commitment, student diversity, personal and program integrity, life-long learning, professionalism, high academic standards, preparation for seamless transfer to higher education, and a supportive learning environment for student success.

Coursework in the biological, social, and behavioral sciences and humanities serves as the basic foundation in the nursing program. The program integrates theoretical instruction in the classroom with small group discussions and clinical experiences in hospitals, home health care agencies, and other settings in the community. Students also have the opportunity to participate in simulated clinical experiences and practice clinical skills in the state-of-the art Simulation Laboratory and Nursing Learning Laboratory.

On This Page

 

  • Purpose of this Subject Guide
  • Librarian's Recommendation
  • Databases
  • Empirical Research
  • Quick Tip!
  • Student WiFi
  • Tutorials
  • Tools
  • Writing Strategies
  • Search Strategies
  • Student Success
Purpose of Subject Guides

This Subject LibGuide will take you through the process of performing research in order to create an academic level research paper or project.

Navigate within this Subject LibGuide by using the horizontal tabs.

Let the journey begin, you are on your way to gather and analyze information!

Empirical Research

Empirical research is based on observed and measured phenomena and derives knowledge from actual experience rather than from theory or belief. View the Empirical Research guide for more information. 

Quick Tip!

Keep track of the sources you use so it will be easier for you to create the appropriate citations!

Student WiFi

Network Name: lahc-Student or LACCDStudent network

​Username: Your SIS portal username (http://mycollege.laccd.edu/)

Password: Your SIS portal password

Tools
Writing Strategies

Begin your research by following these steps:

1. Identify a broad research topic and gather general information

  • Books, reference books, websites

2. Evaluate your sources

3. Narrow your topic (what do you want to focus on within the broad research topic?)

4. Identify main concepts

5. List keywords and synonyms

6. Create a thesis statement

7. Collect data

  • Search in the library databases using your main concepts and keywords/synonyms

8. Evaluate your sources 

9. Begin writing your paper

10. Cite your sources 

Primary sources are documents or physical objects which were written or created during the time under study.

Original Documents: diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, interviews, news film footage, autobiographies, official records.
Creative Works: poetry, drama, novels, music, art.
Relics or Artifacts: pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings.
 

Secondary sources interpret and analyze primary sources; they are one or more steps removed from the event. 

Publications: textbooks, magazine articles, histories, criticisms, commentaries, encyclopedias.
Images: pictures, quotes, or graphics of primary sources.

Affiliation: Is a reputable institution connected to the site (e.g., .edu, .gov, .org)?

Audience: Working links? Written at an appropriate level? Information suitable for intended audience? 

Authority: Is the author (not designer of web site) identified? Credentials? Contact info? 

Content: Well-organized? Relates to objective?

Currency: Up-to-date information? 

Design: Site loads reasonably quickly? Easy to navigate? Legible? Appropriate graphics? Font style?

Objectivity: Contains little or no advertising and free of bias? 

Purpose: Clearly stated and meets objective? 

Common Sense

Many people think of plagiarism as copying another's work or borrowing someone else's original ideas. But terms like "copying" and "borrowing" can disguise the seriousness of the offense.

The Following Is Considered Plagiarism

  • Turning in someone else's work as your own
  • Copying words or ideas from someone else without giving credit
  • Failing to put a quotation in quotation marks
  • Giving incorrect information about the source of a quotation
  • Changing words but copying the sentence structure of a source without giving credit 
  • Copying so many words or ideas from a source that makes up the majority of your work, whether you give credit or not
  • Using an image, video, or piece of music in a work you have produced without receiving proper permission or providing appropriate citation 

Quoting vs Paraphrasing

Let's say that you want to introduce information from another source (a book, a journal article, or website, for example) into your paper. You could approach this by quoting the work directly or try to convey the information from the original source in your paper by rephrasing it in your own words. This latter approach is paraphrasing.

Paraphrasing Is A Valuable Skill

Paraphrasing includes the ideas or information from an original source in your paper by rephrasing those ideas or information in your own words. The key to successful paraphrasing is to use as few words as possible from the original text--be mindful not to change the meaning that you are trying to convey as you rephrase--and to cite your paraphrase. Without proper citation, your paraphrase could be construed as plagiarism. 

Six steps to effectively paraphrasing along with a few examples can be found on the Purdue Online Writing Lab website: 

Preventing Plagiarism

  • When in doubt, cite sources
  • Make it clear who said what
  • Consult with your instructor
  • Plan your paper
  • Take effective notes
  • Know how to paraphrase
  • Analyze and evaluate your sources

 

"Plagiarism 101." Plagiarism.org. iParadigms, LLC, 2015. Web. 22 Nov. 2015. <http://www.plagiarism.org/>.

Popular articles are from publications that are "popular" to the general public. They can be identified by the following characteristics:

  • Articles about "hot topics"
  • Color images or people, places, and things
  • Common language
  • Lack an author or citation information
  • Short article length
  • Written by journalist for the mass public

Scholarly articles are found in professional journals; they can be identified by the following characteristics:

  • Articles related to professional studies in a particular field
  • Author and citation information is displayed
  • Long in length
  • Images of statistics data, graphs, and charts
  • Professional, technical, and scientific language and writing style
  • Reviewed and written by professionals in the field

Undergraduate Research: It is important to know that popular and scholarly articles are good sources of information. When selecting articles think about the way you are going to use the content.

Popular: background research

Scholarly: academic cite-able research

Popular Scholarly

Marie Claire

American Literature

Time

American Criminal Law Review

Wired

Aerospace Power Journal

Yoga Journal

BCM Health Services Research

Student Success

Be Challenged, Be Curious, & Organize Your Thoughts!   

Identify Student Resources: library, counseling department, tutoring/writing center, clubs, and associations. LAHC Student Services

Be Prepared: start early by prepping for registering for classes, class materials, and assignments.

Create Connections: form study groups and build long lasting relationships with your peers. 

Office Hours: visit your instructors during their office hours! Communicate your needs and concerns to clarify class assignments. 

Feedback: learn to provide and receive feedback from your peers, instructors, and counselors; it is an opportunity to grow for everyone involved. 

Don't Give Up: talk to someone on campus before quitting (instructor, counselor, or librarian), they can aid you in finding the recourses you need to make your academic experience successful!

Librarian's Recommendation
Databases
Search Strategies

 

Use the tabbed box at the top of the library website homepage to begin your search. 

 

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to locate various types of resources

  1. Type your search term in the box then click, Search. 
  2. Use the Refine Results menu on the left side of the search results page to narrow or expand your search.
    • Available at LAHC and Resource Type will be the most helpful in the beginning stages of your research.
    • There are many additional options listed for Resource Type that are not shown in the image below.
  3. Click Apply Filters to confirm your choices and update the search results.

 

 

 

Databases

  • Use the drop down field to select a database by name if you already know which one you want to use. 
  • Click Library Database A-Z List to view the list of descriptions.

 

Research Guides

This tab contains various library guides that may assist you with your research.