002 - Alvillar - Health - LibGuides at Los Angeles Harbor College

Research Topic

Citation Format - MLA

Search Strategies

Use the tabbed box at the top of the library website homepage to begin your search.

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to locate various types of resources

Type your search term in the box then click, Search.
Use the Refine Results menu on the left side of the search results page to narrow or expand your search.
- Available at LAHC and Resource Type will be the most helpful in the beginning stages of your research.
- There are many additional options listed for Resource Type that are not shown in the image below.
Click Apply Filters to confirm your choices and update the search results.

Databases

Use the drop down field to select a database by name if you already know which one you want to use.
Click Library Database A-Z List to view the list of descriptions.

Research Guides

This tab contains various library guides that may assist you with your research.

Tools

Dictionary - Merriam Webster
Reading the definition of a word can provide a clear prospective on keywords for your search.
Thesaurus
Identifying synonyms will help you broaden then narrow your search to generate suitable results.

Tutorials

Keywords

Search by the name of the illness, disease, or type of addiction.

Books & eBooks

American Medical Association Family Medical Guide by American Medical Association (Compiled by)
Call Number: LAHC Reference: RC81 .A543 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Brain-Robbers by Frankenburg
Call Number: LAHC Stacks: RC564 .F735 2014
Publication Date: 2014
A Cancer in the Family by Theodora Ross; Siddhartha Mukherjee
Call Number: LAHC Stacks: RC268.4 .R68 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Genetic Disorders Sourcebook by Sandra J. Judd (Editor)
Call Number: LAHC Reference: RB155.5 .G455 2010
Publication Date: 2009
In the Kingdom of the Sick: A Social History of Chronic Illness in America by Laurie Edwards
Call Number: LAHC Stacks: RA644.6 .E38 2014
Publication Date: 2014

Databases

EBSCO - All (EBSCO is the Vendor Name) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary.
Click on Full - Text to insure access to the item.
GALE - All (GALE is the Vendor Name) This link opens in a new window
Scroll down to use the Topic Finder visual tool.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
An innovative learning aid that lets students examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research. These powerful tools can be used for in-classroom demonstrations or help with homework and research assignments.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together many databases. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a user-friendly platform.

Media

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a library database. Once you click on the Kanopy link, the films that are listed on the main page, are what Harbor currently has access to.

The films by Learning Seeds (minerals, fats, vitamins, protein, ect... might be useful to your topic).

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

Health: 002 - Alvillar