Skip to main content

Health: 002 - Omaboe

Health 002 - Health and Fitness

This course explores physical fitness as related to cardio-pulmonary capacity, nutrition, stress and addictive substances. The course involves laboratory assessment of each student's fitness status, lecture and experiences in a variety of selected fitness activities. Based on these experiences students are expected to develop an individualized physical fitness program.

Assignment

Sexually Transmitted Infections

Select one topic provided in class 

  • Effects of STIs on health and during pregnancy
  • Bacterial infections
  • Viral infections including HIV
  • HPV transmission and cancer in college age students

Group Research

Groups should aim at providing guidelines, resources, and preventing care information that promote healthy lifestyle changes and positive decision making geared toward college students.

Groups needs to obtain instructor’s consent when choosing a topic.

Each topic must include:

  1. Introduction to the topic with (historical) background information.

  2. Statistics (local and worldwide) with graphs or tables AND explanations of the results.

  3. Description of the topic, guidelines, prevention, behavior modification, new treatments, ect...

  4. Local resources, support groups, and quick facts.

  5. Interactive activity & quiz for classmates.

Books

Navigate to the Find Books tab and use the library catalog search box. 

Search by:

  • Title
  • Author
  • Keyword
  • Theme

OR

Connect to the catalog by viewing the books below:

  1. Click on the blue link or image to open the item record in the library catalog. Take note of the school location, call number, and status. 
  2. To find similar books, click on Catalog Record and look at the Subject Terms to see how the item was cataloged. 
  3. Click on the Subject Term to navigate to items cataloged with that term and view results. 

To begin a new search after viewing a book, click Search/Home on the top left bar. 

Assignment Requirements

Type: 

Length: 

Citation Format: 

Sources: 3 (minimum) different sources

Example Sources:

Articles Academic/Scholarly, Newspaper, Magazine
Books Print, eBook, Reference
Media Video, Audio, Image
Miscellaneous Personal Interview
Websites  

Databases

Use the Search All tab on the library homepage to search all the databases at the same time; sort the results with the Refine Results toolbar on the left side of the results page.

OR 

Use the Database tab on the library homepage:

Specific Databases:

 

Subject Specific Databases:

  1. Navigate to the library homepage
  2. Click on the Database tab
  3. Click on LAHC Library Databases
  4. Click on the All Subject drown down box
  5. Click on Health / Medical
  6. Choose your desired database

Finding Statistics

Data and statistics in your presentation can strengthen the validity of your argument.

Data and statistics may be found in published journal articles, but they are also likely to be found in data compilations available on governmental, intergovernmental, and NGO websites.

  1. Finding statistics in journal articles
    1. In a typical database, you can set up your search to include the term Statistics as a subject, in addition to your main subject term. In EBSCO databases, it would look like this:
      EBSCO Statistics search

    2. One strategy is to use Google's domain search tool, and Boolean logic, to construct a query such as these:

     

     


    Domain .int is for intergovernmental organizations and organizations with United Nations observer status and is the domain issued to such sites as the World Health Organization.

    You can include site:org, of course (the International Monetary Fund, a good source of economics data, is imf.org), but remember that Wikipedia is a .org. Wikipedia articles, by the way, may have some useful links in the External Links section.