Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology 101 - BIODIVERSITY AND ENVIRONMENTAL BIOLOGY
This is the first course of a three-course lecture and laboratory sequence for Biology majors. It includes the scientific method, cell structure and function, organisms at and above the cellular level of organization, as well as morphology, systematics, ecology, and behavior. This course prepares students entering the fields of medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, public health, veterinary medicine,
List of potential topics
Evolution of the dog family and/or the dog
Evolution of cats and/or the cat family
Evolution of primates, including humans.
Evolution of the mammals.
Evolution of the birds.
Human anatomy and physiology, and its evolution.
Restoration of species
Evolution of sexual behavior
Marine species diversity
Genetic mutations and human diseases
Global warming and biodiversity effects
Type: Presentation of an appropriate paper to the class.
Length: 5 minutes
Required Sources: Popular science nonprofessional magazines or professional journals, 4-6 pages long.
||Academic/Scholarly/Professional, Popular magazines
- Use the Search All tab on the library homepage to search all the databases at the same time.
- Sort the results with the Refine Results toolbar on the left side of the results page.
Subject Specific Databases:
- Navigate to the library homepage
- Click on the Database tab
- Click on LAHC Library Databases
- Click on the All Subject drown down box
- Click on Earth Science / Global Studies or Health / Medical
- Choose your desired database
Few full-text articles; be sure to limit to Full-Text before you search.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
Medical disciplines, AHFS Consumer Medication Information, and generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Biomedical and life sciences.
Science In Context
Results sorted into groups. Select Academic Journals or Magazines.
Interdisciplinary-- designed for public libraries and includes reference books, photos, maps, and flags.