Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases contain periodicals (magazines, newspapers, journals, and reviews) that are published at regular intervals.
Click Go to databases! to search by subject, title, or provider
This interactive tutorial will walk you through the steps of using the library databases.
Benefits & Contents - Electronic Databases
- Academic & Professional Journals
- Images: Photos, Maps, Flags
- Literature Reviews
- Reference Materials: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Searchable Cited References
- Television & Radio News Transcript
Abstracts: a quick way to see if a document is going to be useful to your research without reading the full report.
Control Results: Filters to help you control results and select article type, date ranges, reading levels, and advanced search.
Email (document link and citation)
Experience: you are a college student! Academic level work is expected.
Get Familiar: with journal titles and authors in your field of study or major.
Scholarly Materials: find peer-reviewed and academic or scholarly documents.
Undecided Research Topic: Shop for a topic by browsing in the Subject and Topic lists.
Popular vs Scholarly
American Criminal Law Review
Aerospace Power Journal
BCM Health Services Research
What's the Difference?
Popular articles are from publications that are "popular" to the general public. They can be identified by the following characteristics:
- Articles about "hot topics"
- Color images or people, places, and things
- Common language
- Lack an author or citation information
- Short article length
- Written by journalist for the mass public
Scholarly articles are found in professional journals; they can be identified by the following characteristics:
- Articles related to professional studies in a particular field
- Author and citation information is displayed
- Long in length
- Images of statistics data, graphs, and charts
- Professional, technical, and scientific language and writing style
- Reviewed and written by professionals in the field
Undergraduate Research: It is important to know that popular and scholarly articles are good sources of information. When selecting articles think about the way you are going to use the content.
Popular: background research
Scholarly: academic cite-able research
Search Tips - Electronic Databases
Advanced Search: exact search terms, language tools, file format, and time period.
Boolean Operators: expand or narrow your search by using AND (+), OR, NOT (-)
- AND: narrows search results: travel AND Europe
- NOT: narrows search results: television NOT cable
- OR: broadens search results: college OR university
Keyword Searching: use keywords and synonyms that describe your concepts and topics; e.g., Child, minor, infant.
Multiple Databases: use at least two sources for your research.
Phrase Searching: put quotation marks around phrases you want to see together; e.g., “higher education”.
Truncation: allows you to search words with the same root, which in turn broadens search results; e.g., music* finds: musical, musician, musicians, and musicality.
EBSCO - Search All Databases
EBSCO offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research and brings together the most comprehensive collection of content.
GALE - Search All Databases
GALE offers proprietary references combined with titles from more than 120 notable publishers, thousands of newspapers and journals, and over 100 million pages of primary sources that results in remarkable content covering every conceivable topic.
ProQuest - Search All Databases
ProQuest is an interdisciplinary newspaper database that includes the Los Angeles Times, Los Angeles Times Historical, and New York Times Historical.