Skip to main content

Faculty Library Guide - Spring 2020: Teaching Materials for your Online Course

Recommened Steps

  1. View the list of already located textbooks that are available as a free eBook to see if we already found something for your course.
  2. Use this (Faculty Library Services) guide to find your textbook available as a free eBook, specifically use the following boxes on this page:
    • Zero (OER) Textbook Classes Guide
    • Textbooks
  3. If you are unable to locate the eBook version of your textbook, submit the Textbook Search Request Form.
  4. If there is no available eBook version of your textbook, use this guide again to search for replacement materials.

On This Page:

  • Library Databases A-Z List
  • Zero (OER) Textbook Classes Guide
  • eBooks
  • PrepSTEP
  • One Search
  • Canvas Commons
  • Additional Resources

Zero (OER) Textbook Classes Guide

Textbooks. Course Outlines, Modules, & Media

Type

Access or Instructions on the Guide
Copyright free and ready to use materials Use the Zero Cost - OER Course Material tab
Teaching materials on the Internet Check the copyright laws by following Step 2 on this page listed under the header Other:
If you create your own teaching materials

Follow the information listed on the Teaching Material you Create tab

  Guide: Zero Cost (OER) Textbook Classes

One Search

Everything in the library collection (excluding EBSCO host)

  1. Navigate to the One Search box on the library homepage to begin your search
  2. Use the Refine Your Results menu on the left side to narrow your results
  • Works well for periodicals
  • Not recommended for eBooks at this time

*Distribute the item to student by downloading the periodical PDF then uploading to Canvas or email the permalink.

Library Databases A-Z List

Contains: eBooks and periodicals (articles, journals, magazines, newspapers, etc...), and media (videos and images).

  1. Navigate to the A-Z Database list
  2. Click on the database title and start your search

*Distribute the item to students by downloading the periodical PDF then uploading to Canvas or emailing the permalink.

PrepSTEP

Assignments, Subject Specific Tutorials, Practice Tests, eBooks, & Flashcards

Integrate PrepSTEP in Canvas!

View the guide: PrepSTEP & Canvas to get started

What about grading?

  1. Add PrepSTEP to your Canvas course.
  2. Assign tasks for your students to complete:
  3. Students grades will appear in the Canvas gradebook.
  • Students will access and complete tasks through Canvas.
  • Single sign-on: once students login to Canvas, there is no additional login to use PrepSTEP.
  • Only the students ID number will be stored; no other personal information.
  • If the student is not able to finish the test once they begin, they can come back at a later time and continue.
  • Students may review their answers once the test is submitted and use the options for further study recommendations

Learning Centers:

  • Core Math and Science Skills 
  • Core English Skills 
  • College Success Skills
  • Career Preparation
  • Basic Computer Skills
  • Placement Test Preparation
  • Grad School Admissions Preparation (ACT & SAT)
  • Spanish Center (Recursos Para Hispanohablante)​

Canvas Commons

"Commons is a learning object repository that enables educators to find, import, and share resources. A digital library full of educational content, Commons allows Canvas users to share learning resources with other users as well as import learning resources into a Canvas course."

 

What is Canvas Commons?

  1. Login to your Canvas account
  2. Click on Commons
  3. Start your search

Help with Canvas

24 hour Canvas support: 844-602-6287

 

Streaming videos

eBooks

Access the EBSCO host eBook collection by clicking on the link below.
 
Best Method: Email students the permalink so they can access the detailed record and view the eBook from this point every time they need it. They may read the eBook by viewing the PDF or clicking through the table of contents.
 
Emailing chapters or certain pages: Simultaneous access is unlimited as long as students open the PDF and email chapters to themselves, then close their browser.
 
Avoid: checking out and downloading (through their EBSCO account). This will result in the eBook being blocked for a day until it self-returns.

Textbooks

Summary of available e-textbooks to date

 

VitalSource

  • VitalSource is providing temporary free textbook access through May 25th, 2020. You can access up to 7 free online textbooks.
  • Create an account here: 
    https://www.vitalsource.com/sign_up
  • Search for title and author (ISBN search doesn't always work)
  • Ask a librarian for help if you can't find your text.

RedShelf

Cengage -

  • Offering students free access to all our digital platforms and 14,000 ebooks through Cengage Unlimited

JoVE -

  • JoVE Core – a video textbook that isolates and visually presents core concepts in Biology and Social Psychology to improve learning comprehension. 
  • JoVE Science Education – a collection of simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations in eight STEM fields
  • Lab Manual – comprehensive, curriculum focused videos for introductory biology lab courses

McGraw Hill -

Pearson -

Not only is Pearson offering informative materials, but they also have a program right now where faculty can transition their whole class from a printed [only] textbook to digital materials like MyLab, Mastering, Revel, or eBooks for free.