Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English 101 - College Reading & Composition I
English 101 is a reading and composition course designed to prepare students to handle a wide range of college writing assignments and to acquire the analytic skills necessary for effective academic preparation. Stress is placed on the organization and composition of objective expository and argumentative essays, including the research paper.
Provided by Professor Stoddart Fall 2018.
Review the assignment prompt and details.
Author: Hermann Hesse
1. Navigate to the library homepage:
2. Begin with a search:
- Book - search the library catalog for physical books in the library.
- eBooks - search and access from on and off campus 24/7.
- Databases (online periodicals) - search for database by name or view the A-Z list for database descriptions, access on and off campus 24/7.
3. After viewing the initial search results:
- For eBooks and Databases (online periodicals), refine your results using the menu on the left side of the search results page.
- Change the publication date range if needed
Do you need ideas on where to take your research, how to narrow your topic, or what to focus on?
- Explore the Subject Terms by clicking Show More
Navigate to the eBooks tab to search for eBooks in the EBSCO and Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) databases.
Length: 5-8 pages
Citation Format: MLA
Required Sources: 4 outside sources (articles & books) besides the primary text.
||Academic/Scholarly, Newspaper, Magazine
||Print, eBook, Reference
||Video, Audio, Image
Navigate to the Find Articles tab and view the Databases by Subject page.
Recommended Subject Databases Collections: Religion/Philosophy
Authors and their works, literary movements and genres, literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews.
Produced by Salem Press, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. Includes literary works, reviewed critical analysis, brief plot summaries, biographies, and author essays.
Recommended Search Terms
Recommended Search Terms:
- Four Noble Truths
- Eightfold Path
Navigate to the Find Books tab and use the library catalog search box.
Connect to the catalog by viewing the books below:
- Click on the blue link to open the item record in the library catalog. Take note of the school location, call number, and status.
- To find similar books, click on Catalog Record and look at the Subject Terms to see how the item was cataloged.
- Click on the Subject Term to navigate to items cataloged with that term and view results.
To begin a new search after viewing a book, click Search/Home on the top left bar.