Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English 101 - College Reading & Composition I
English 101 is a reading and composition course designed to prepare students to handle a wide range of college writing assignments and to acquire the analytic skills necessary for effective academic preparation. Stress is placed on the organization and composition of objective expository and argumentative essays, including the research paper.
Fast Food Nation
- You will research a subject first presented in Schlosser's Fast Food Nation.
- The subject is up to you, but should be one first presented in his book.
- Examples might be corporate food production, GMO’s, fast food worker safety, the global market for fast food, and on.
- Your research should be well documented and organized in an annotated bibliography.
Title your annotated bibliography:
- Annotated Bibliography
- Annotated List of Works Cited
Use the Search All tab on the library homepage to search all the databases at the same time; sort the results with the Refine Results toolbar on the left side of the results page.
Use the Database tab on the library homepage for specific databases
Recommended Subject Databases Collections:
Kanopy - Click on or off campus
Video streaming, offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers.
Includes: Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and more.
Recommended Search Terms
- Children and fast food
- Convenience food
- Eric Schlosser
- Ethics and food industry
- Fast food
- Fast food and agriculture
- Fast food and economy
- Fast food and marketing
- Fast food nation
- Meat packing
Length: 7 - 8 pages
Citation Format: MLA
Required Sources: Minimum of 8 sources, only 3 can be Internet or Electronic.
||Academic/Scholarly, Newspaper, Magazine
||Print, eBook, Reference
||Video, Audio, Image
Navigate to the Find Books tab and use the library catalog search box.
Connect to the catalog by viewing the books below:
- Click on the blue link or image to open the item record in the library catalog. Take note of the school location, call number, and status.
- To find similar books, click on Catalog Record and look at the Subject Terms to see how the item was cataloged.
- Click on the Subject Term to navigate to items cataloged with that term and view results.
To begin a new search after viewing a book, click Search/Home on the top left bar.