Skip to Main Content
Los Angeles Harbor College home page Los Angeles Harbor College Library

LAHC Library Periodicals & Databases

Use the drop-down box options to narrow your database search. From the Subjects box, select Interdisciplinary for multi-subject research.

Loading...

Find Print & Electronic Periodicals By Title

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
The ABI/INFORM Collection includes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
ABI/INFORM Collection features:
Business and economics full-text journals and periodicals
Dissertations, conference and working papers
Country-and industry-focused reports and downloadable data
Newspapers and news content
New
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
New
Alt-Press Watch showcases unique, independent voices from some of our nation's most respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features over 670,000 articles from more than 230 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news.
New
AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline.
New
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
New
In-depth and breaking news, opinion, advice and jobs for professors, deans and others in higher education.
New
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
New
Communication & Mass Media Complete is a communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
New
Credo Instruct is a set of online videos, tutorials, and quizzes covering information literacy. Your library has subscribed to Instruct and it is free for you and students to use, on campus or off.
New
New
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
New
A comprehensive, curriculum-focused video subscription providing unlimited access to thousands of videos.
New
New
An innovative learning aid that lets students examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research. These powerful tools can be used for in-classroom demonstrations or help with homework and research assignments.
New
Authoritative perspectives on gender and women's studies and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) research.
New
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Center is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.
New
Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Issue and Article pages make it simple to see all of the available content in one place; thousands of editorials and opinions from renowned newspaper sources. Updated weekly.
New
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization.
New
From the Modern Language Association (MLA) and EBSCO, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.
New
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Nexis Uni includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Legal sources include texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.
New
All aspects of the visual arts worldwide.
New
The OED is the definitive record of the English language, featuring 600000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1000 years of English.
New
Oxford Music Online is a portal for access and cross-search to Grove Music Online and other Oxford University Press reference content in one location.
New
ProQuest Central brings together many databases. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a user-friendly platform.
New
ScienceDirect College Edition features three subject-specific collections:
Health & life sciences - including nursing, medicine, dentistry, biology, biochemistry, environmental sciences, toxicology, pharmacology, immunology, neuroscience and more
Physical sciences - including engineering, chemistry, materials science, computer science, mathematics, energy, astronomy, physics and more
Social & behavioral sciences - including arts & humanities, business and accounting, psychology and cognitive sciences, social sciences, economics, decision sciences, forensic science and more
New
SocINDEX with Full Text is a robust sociology research database. It provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies.
New
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
New Popular
Swank provides digital access to course-related feature-length films, including documentaries, dramas, comedies, thrillers, mysteries, and more. These titles have been specifically selected by librarians based on the films most popular in our DVD collection and those often assigned as required reading by professors for coursework at LAHC.

Swank is available streaming for LAHC students, faculty, and staff from on- or off-campus.
New
US Major Dailies provides access to The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and the Chicago Tribune in full-text format and offers users thorough and timely coverage of local, national, and global events.
New
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search regional U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. This contemporary news collection delivers current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Most content loads same day — oftentimes by 8:00 AM U.S. Eastern Time. U.S. Newsstream is a comprehensive collection that offers researchers access to current news sources in the U.S.and over 80 Gannett regional newspapers and includes hundreds of other local, regional, and national titles from throughout the U.S.
New
Vocational Studies Complete is a database designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges and vocational programs. Providing thousands of full-text journals and books, plus country reports and market research reports, it covers the most relevant subjects, including biotechnology, graphic arts, criminal justice and veterinary assisting.
New
Wiley Online Library allows searching of articles from hundreds of electronic journals published by Wiley and related companies, as well as a vast and growing collection of reference works and other books. You may search by titles, abstracts, authors, affiliations and keywords.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...