Skip to main content

English: 101 - Savard

English 101 - College Reading & Composition I

English 101 is a reading and composition course designed to prepare students to handle a wide range of college writing assignments and to acquire the analytic skills necessary for effective academic preparation. Stress is placed on the organization and composition of objective expository and argumentative essays, including the research paper.

Assignment

Fast Food Nation

  • You will research a subject first presented in Schlosser's Fast Food Nation.
  • The subject is up to you, but should be one first presented in his book.
  • Examples might be corporate food production, GMO’s, fast food worker safety, the global market for fast food, and on.
  • Your research should be well documented and organized in an annotated bibliography.

Title your annotated bibliography:

  • Annotated Bibliography
  • Annotated List of Works Cited

Databases

Navigate to the Find Articles tab and view the Databases by Subject page.

Recommended Subject Databases Collections:

 

Individual Databases:

Recommended Search Terms

  • Children and Marketing
  • Convenience Food
  • Corporations
  • Eric Schlosser
  • Ethics and Food Industry
  • Fast Food
  • Fast Food and Agriculture
  • Fast Food and Economy
  • Fast Food and Marketing
  • Fast Food Nation
  • Meat Packing

Websites

Assignment Requirements

Type: Essay

Length: 7 - 8 pages

Citation Format: MLA

Required Sources: Minimum of 8 sources, only 3 can be Internet or Electronic.

Example Sources:

Articles Academic/Scholarly, Newspaper, Magazine
Books Print, eBook, Reference
Media Video, Audio, Image
Miscellaneous  
Websites  

Books

Navigate to the Find Books tab and use the library catalog search box. 

OR

Connect to the catalog by viewing the books below:

  1. Click on the blue link or image to open the item record in the library catalog. Take note of the school location, call number, and status. 
  2. To find similar books, click on Catalog Record and look at the Subject Terms to see how the item was cataloged. 
  3. Click on the Subject Term to navigate to items cataloged with that term and view results. 

To begin a new search after viewing a book, click Search/Home on the top left bar.