Skip to main content

Biology: APA

Citation Generators

Use these websites to quickly create citations or look for the citation generator tool within electronic databases.

Citation Generators

Always double check the created citation with another source such as Purdue OWL.

Purdue OWL: APA

In-Text Citations: Quotations & Paraphrasing

An in-text citation is when an author's last name and the page number(s) from which the quotation or paraphrase is taken must appear in the text, and a complete reference should appear on your Works Cited page.

Navigate to the Purdue OWL website for in-text citation formatting and examples.

Purdue OWL: APA - In-Text Citations - The Basics

Books

Essay & Reference Page - Formatting

  • Typed using a word processing program such as Microsoft Word.
  • Double-spaced.
  • 8.5" x 11" paper.
  • 1" margins on all sides.
  • ​12 pt. Times New Roman font.
  • Page header  (also known as the "running head"), the running head is a shortened version of your paper's title and cannot exceed 50 characters including spacing and punctuation.
  • Four Sections: 
    • Title Page
    • Abstract
    • Main Body
    • Reference

Click on these links to navigate to the Purdue website:

APA - Title Page and Abstract Format

APA - Sample Paper

View this video on formatting your paper using Microsoft Word.

Purdue OWL: Basic Rules

  • Your reference list should appear at the end of your paper on a new page separate
  • Label this page "References" centered at the top of the page (do NOT bold, underline, or use quotation marks for the title).
  • All text should be double-spaced just like the rest of your essay.
  • All lines after the first line of each entry in your reference list should be indented one-half inch from the left margin. This is called hanging indentation.
  • Alphabetized by the last name of the first author of each work.

 

  • Authors' names are inverted (last name first).
  • For multiple articles by the same author, or authors listed in the same order, list the entries in chronological order, from earliest to most recent.

 

  • Present the journal title in full.
  • Maintain the punctuation and capitalization that is used by the journal in its title.
  • Capitalize all major words in journal titles.
  • When referring to books, chapters, articles, or Web pages, capitalize only the first letter of the first word of a title and subtitle, the first word after a colon or a dash in the title, and proper nouns. Do not capitalize the first letter of the second word in a hyphenated compound word.
  • Italicize titles of longer works such as books and journals.
  • Do not italicize, underline, or put quotes around the titles of shorter works such as journal articles or essays in edited collections.

Author(s): Basic Form

The following rules for handling works by a single author or multiple authors apply to all APA-style references in your reference list, regardless of the type of work (book, article, electronic resource, etc.)

 

Single Author

Last name first, followed by author initials.

Berndt, T. J. (2002). Friendship quality and social development. Current Directions in Psychological Science, 11, 7-10.

 

Visit Purdue OWL for more information: Reference List: Author/Authors

  • More than one author
  • Organization as author
  • Unknown author
  • Two or more works by the same author
  • Introductions, prefaces, forewords, and afterwords 

Books: Basic Form

 

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Location: Publisher.

 

Note: For "Location," you should always list the city and the state using the two letter postal abbreviation without periods (New York, NY).

Calfee, R. C., & Valencia, R. R. (1991). APA guide to preparing manuscripts for journal publication. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.

 

Visit Purdue OWL for more information on: Reference List - Books

  • Edited Book, No Author
  • Edited Book with an Author or Authors
  • A Translation
  • Edition Other Than the First
  • Article or Chapter in an Edited Book
  • Multivolume Work

Full Citation- The Basics:

  • Retrieved from-- If the ebook is open access/free.
  • Available from-- If a purchase is required to read the eBook.
  • (n.d.)-- if the publication date is not available.
  • E-Reader Version Examples-- Kindle, Nook, Sony Reader, NetLibrary, ebrary, and Google Books.
  • DOI-- is the first choice but use the URL/permalink if DOI is not available.

 

Purdue eBook

 

 

APA Website - eBook

 

 

In-Text Citation

  • Paraphrased material-- Author's last name and publication year.
  • Direct quote-- Author's last name, publication year, and page number. 

 

Great examples shown here:

Purdue APA - In Text Citations

APA Website - eBook 

 

Article from a Database

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page range. Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/

Smyth, A. M., Parker, A. L., & Pease, D. L. (2002). A study of enjoyment of peas. Journal of Abnormal Eating, 8(3), 120-125. Retrieved from
http://www.fakeexamplehomepage.com/full/url/

Visit Purdue OWL for more information on: Reference List - Electronic Sources (Web Publications)

  • Article from an Online Periodical
  • Online Scholarly Journal Article: Citing DOIs
  • Article from an Online Periodical with DOI Assigned
  • Article from an Online Periodical with no DOI Assigned
  • Article from a Database
  • Abstract
  • Newspaper Article
  • Electronic Books
  • Kindle Books
  • Chapter/Section of a Web Document or Online Book Chapter
  • Online Book Reviews
  • Dissertation/Thesis from a Database
  • Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
  • Online Bibliographies and Annotated Bibliographies
  • Data Sets
  • Graphic Data (e.g. Interactive Maps and Other Graphic Representations of Data)
  • Qualitative Data and Online Interviews
  • Online Lecture Notes and Presentation Slides
  • Nonperiodical Web Document or Report
  • Computer Software/Downloaded Software
  • E-mail
  • Online Forum or Discussion Board Posting
  • Blog (Weblog) and Video Blog Post
  • Wikis
  • Audio Podcast
  • Video Podcasts

Website

Author, A. (date). Title of document [Format description]. Retrieved from https://URL

In text: (Author, year)

 

Freakonomics. (2010, October 29). E-ZPass is a life-saver (literally) [Blog post]. Retrieved

from http://freakonomics.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/10/29/e-zpass-is-a-life-saver-literally/

 

In text: (Freakonomics, 2010)

 

 

Webpage

American Psychological Association. (n.d.). Autism treatment options.


     Retrieved from http://www.apa.org/topics/autism/treatment.aspx

 

APA Websites

APA Webpage

 

Interviews, Email, and Other Personal Communication

No personal communication is included in your reference list; instead, parenthetically cite the communicator's name, the phrase "personal communication," and the date of the communication in your main text only.

 

(E. Robbins, personal communication, January 4, 2001).
A. P. Smith also claimed that many of her students had difficulties with APA style (personal communication, November 3, 2002).

 

Visit Purdue OWL for more information: Reference List: Other Non-Print Sources

  • Interviews, Email, and Other Personal Communication
  • Motion Picture
  • A Motion Picture or Video Tape with International or National Availability
  • A Motion Picture or Video Tape with Limited Availability
  • Television Broadcast or Series Episode
  • Single Episode of a Television Series
  • Television Broadcast
  • A Television Series
  • Music Recording
Loading ...

General - Citations

What is a Citation?

A "citation" is the way you tell your readers that certain material in your work came from another source. It also gives your readers the information necessary to find that source again, including:

  • Information about the author.
  • Title of the work.
  • Name and location of the company that published your copy of the source.
  • Date your copy was published.
  • Page numbers of the material you are borrowing.

Why Cite?

Giving credit to the original author by citing sources is the only way to use other people's work without plagiarizing. But there are a number of other reasons to cite sources:

  • Citations are extremely helpful to anyone who wants to find out more about your ideas and where they came from.
  • Not all sources are good or right -- your own ideas may often be more accurate or interesting than those of your sources. Proper citation will keep you from taking the rap for someone else's bad ideas.
  • Citing sources shows the amount of research you've done.
  • Citing sources strengthens your work by lending outside support to your ideas.

When to Cite?

Whenever you borrow words or ideas, you need to acknowledge their source. The following situations almost always require citation:

  • Quotations.
  • Paraphrasing.
  • Using an idea that someone else has already expressed.
  • Making specific reference to the work of another.
  • Someone else's work has been critical in developing your own ideas.

"What is a Citation?." Plagiarism.org. iParadigms, LLC, 2015. Web. 22 Nov. 2015. http://www.plagiarism.org/.

What is APA?

APA Style establishes standards of written communication concerning:

  • the organization of content
  • writing style
  • citing references
  • and how to prepare a manuscript for publication in certain disciplines.

Why use APA?

  • Using APA Style makes it easier for readers to understand a text by providing a familiar structure they can follow. Abiding by APA's standards as a writer will allow you to:
  • Provide readers with cues they can use to follow your ideas more efficiently and to locate information of interest to them
  • Allow readers to focus more on your ideas by not distracting them with unfamiliar formatting
  • Establish your credibility or ethos in the field by demonstrating an awareness of your audience and their needs as fellow researchers

When to use APA?

APA Style describes rules for the preparation of manuscripts for writers and students in:

  • Social Sciences, such as Psychology, Linguistics, Sociology, Economics, and Criminology
  • Business
  • Nursing

"Welcome to the Purdue OWL." Purdue OWL: APA Overview and Workshop. N.p., n.d. Web. 20 Jan. 2016. <https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/664/1/>.

Loading ...