Skip to main content

English: 101 - Savard (American Dream)

English 101 - College Reading & Composition I

English 101 is a reading and composition course designed to prepare students to handle a wide range of college writing assignments and to acquire the analytic skills necessary for effective academic preparation. Stress is placed on the organization and composition of objective expository and argumentative essays, including the research paper.

Research Topic

Respond based on what you feel the elements of this American Dream are. They could be a job, education, a house, medical care, safety, liberty. Your thesis should reflect the elements you feel are part of the American Dream. Your definition must have relevant examples, explanations, comparisons, descriptions, or factual support. Further, explore the causes and effects of recent events that may support either your definition or the opposition’s definition of “American Dream.”  

Start here!

 

Search All - search all the databases at the same time; sort the results with the Refine Results toolbar on the left side of the results page.

Databases - search for database by name or view the A-Z list for database descriptions

Periodicals - search for a specific periodical (journals, magazines, newspapers) by name or view them grouped by subject. 

Research Guides - search for your course and view the research guide

 

Refine your Results

 

Click Show More to find other sources.

 

Need ideas on where to take your research, how to narrow your topic, or what to focus on? Explore the subject terms by clicking Show More.

Assignment Requirements

Type:  Essay

Length: 4 Pages

Citation Format: MLA

Works Cited Page

Required Sources:  Print source, website, blog, video, or other electronic source, but at least two must be from the library’s database articles. 

Books & eBooks

  1. Click on the blue link or image to open the item record in the library catalog. 
  2. To find similar books, click on Detailed Record and look at the Subject Terms to see how the item was cataloged. 
  3. Click on the Subject Term to navigate to items cataloged with that term and view results. 

Click New Search on the top left blue bar to continue searching. 

Databases

View the A-Z Database page for individual database descriptions or use the Search All tab on the library homepage.